Former Governor Rajith Keerthi Tennakoon has added information to his Facebook account about MPs who support the proposed 20th Amendment and those who previously supported the 17th, 18th and 19th Amendments.

Below is a description of it


The group that voted in favor of 17, 18, 19 and those who could vote in favor of 20 are as follows.

1. Mahinda Samarasinghe

2. Ranjith Siyambalapitiya

3. Priyankara Jayaratne

4. SB Dissanayake

5. Susil Premajayantha

6. Dallas Alahapperuma

7. Johnston Fernando

8. Anura Priyadarshana Yapa

9. Wimal Weerawansa

10. Pavithra Wanniarachchi

11. John Seneviratne

12. Dinesh Gunawardena

13. Gamini Lokuge

14. Bandula Gunawardena

15. Dilan Perera

16. Douglas Devananda

17. A.L.M. Athaulla

18. GL Peiris

19. Mahindananda Aluthgamage

20. Tissa Vitharana

21. Nimalsiripala de Silva

22. Duminda Dissanayake

23. Janaka Bandara Tennakoon

Former Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa could not vote in favor of 19 as he was acting Speaker. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena, the current Speaker, will not get a chance to vote for 20.

Former President and Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa was not in Parliament when the 19th Amendment was passed and did not vote for the 18th (because of the President).

Maithripala Sirisena, who worked hard to bring in 19, did not get a chance to vote in Parliament as he was the President.

Although he voted for 17, 18 and 19, Rajitha Senaratne will not vote for 20. Champika Ranawaka did not vote for 17 and will not vote for 20. Tissa Attanayake, Sajith Premadasa did not vote for 18 and will not vote for 20. Keheliya Rambukwella walked out of Parliament when the 19th Amendment was put to a vote in Parliament.

In the Kegalle district, father Mahipala Herath has voted in favor of two amendments, while his son Kanaka Herath is in favor of the remaining two amendments.

Vasudeva Nanayakkara was not in Parliament at the time of the 17th Amendment and is eagerly awaiting the 20th Amendment with 18,19 votes cast.

However, MPs Tissa Vitarana, Vasudeva, Rajitha and Dw Gunasekara have later stated that they regret raising their hands to 18, sometimes in public and sometimes in private.

215 out of 225 members of parliament voted in favor of the 19th Amendment. The 17th Amendment is the only constitutional amendment passed unanimously by the Parliament of Ceylon.

The 20th Amendment to the Constitution provides that ‘J.R. It is the members of the generation, the happy people and the children of the generation that upheld JR’s constitution, who are preparing to vote for a constitution that is even more powerful than the constitution.

Rajith Keerthi Tennakoon

Former Governor of the Southern and Central Provinces