The 20th Amendment to the Constitution abolished the Constitutional Council which had been in operation until recently and appointed a new body called the Parliamentary Council to appoint suitable persons to high posts in the Government. It was first introduced by the 18th Amendment.

It is noteworthy that the new amendment deprives NGO members who were members of the Constituent Assembly, which was active under the 19th Amendment, of the opportunity to hold office. Accordingly, the law established by the 18th and 17th Amendments to the Constitution is now in force. The recent appointments of heads of departments and senior judicial officers by the Constitutional Council have been severely criticized.

In addition to these major changes, the 20th Amendment recognizes four key provisions contained in the 19th Amendment. Accordingly, the term of office of the President is 5 years. The term of office of the President is 2 terms. The term of Parliament is 5 years. At the same time, the right to information of the people (Information Commission) is recognized by the 20th Amendment.

It is reported that there are several other special features of the new amendment. Accordingly, one year after the election of Parliament, the President has the power to dissolve Parliament. The National Audit Commission has also been abolished by the new constitutional amendment. The new amendment empowers the President to appoint the Attorney General, which was previously vested in the Constitutional Council. It is also noteworthy that the new amendment removes the provision in the 19th Amendment that the Attorney General and the Inspector General of Police should retire at the age of 60.

The 20th Amendment gives dual citizens the power to run for office and be elected to Parliament. The clause limiting the Cabinet to 30 has also been repealed. A number of opposition parties have already expressed their views on the amendment.